December 11, 2017

Dear Member of Congress,

As state leaders in the black church, we write to urge you to oppose drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge as part of the tax reform bill.

The Arctic National Wildlife Refuge is a part of God's creation that is one of America's last intact wilderness areas---unique in its ecological integrity and beauty. This sacred landscape is also home of the Gwich'in, an Alaska native people who depend upon the Porcupine caribou herd for their daily subsistence. One of the first casualties due to disturbances from drilling in the Coastal Plain of the refuge would be the caribou population, which in turn would destroy the Gwich'in way of life.

As pastors and religious leaders, we are gravely concerned about the injustice that would be borne by a people who have lived in the Arctic Refuge for tens of thousands of years. The Gwich'in people rely on the Coastal Plain of the Arctic Refuge, not only for food security, but for their spiritual wellbeing. For the Gwich'in the Coastal Plain is "the place where life begins."

As black church leaders, we are also struck by the similar injustices continually faced by the African American community. We may live far from Alaska, but our plight as African Americans is one and the same, and thus the call to protect the land of the Gwich'in, the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge, is a common cause.

The possibility of oil exploration in the Refuge jeopardizes the ecological integrity of the Refuge and the way of life of the Gwich'in people. We ask you to be just and compassionate and prevent oil exploration or drilling in this precious part of God's creation.

Sincerely,

Dr. Welton Pleasant President California State Baptist, Inc.

Dr. E. Wayne Gaddis President CA Missionary Baptist State Convention

Dr. Joe B. Hardwick President Western Baptist State Convention of CA Presiding Elder Allen Williams, Sr. Los Angeles District AME Church

Presiding Elder Cedric V. Alexander Northern CA AME Church

Presiding Elder Booker T. Guyton Northern CA District AME Church

Presiding Elder T.J. Davis, Jr. Oakland District CME Church

Presiding Elder Elois Knox San Francisco District CME Church

Presiding Elder Mark Hardin Los Angeles District CME Church

Rev. Dr. Joe B. Hardwick President Western States Baptist Convention – CO/WY

Presiding Elder Roscoe C. McKinney CME Jacksonville - Orlando District

Presiding Elder Lional Walker CME - Miami - Tampa District

Dr. James B. Sampson President Florida General Baptist Convention

Elder Willie J. Williams President Florida State Primitive Baptist State Convention, USA, Inc.

Presiding Elder James Davis Pensacola-Mariana District AME

Presiding Elder Carlton L. Taylor Tallahassee District AME

Presiding Elder Valarie J. Walker Orlando District AME Presiding Elder Vincent F. Mitchell Central District AME

Presiding Elder Elizabeth E. Yates Alachua-Central AME

Presiding Elder Tony D. Hansberry Suwannee-North AME

Presiding Elder Karen Walker CME - Chicago District

Dr. William H. Foster, Jr. President Baptist General State Convention of Illinois

Rev. Keith B. McGee President United Baptist State Convention of Illinois

Rev. Dr. Michael H. Harrison, Sr. President Ohio Baptist State Convention

Dr. Otha Gilyard President Ohio Baptist General State Convention, Inc.

Rev. Ivory K. Jones, III President United Missionary Baptist State Convention of OH

Presiding Elder Earl G. Harris Cleveland District AME Church

Presiding Elder P. Robert Tate Youngstown District AME Church

Presiding Elder Walton E. Blake Cincinnati District AME Church

Presiding Elder Betty W. Holley Columbus-Springfield AME Church Presiding Elder Melonia A. Valentine Dayton District AME Church

Presiding Elder Bruce Gibson Cleveland-Pittsburg CME Church

Presiding Elder Tracy Jackson Cincinnati-Dayton CME Church

Elder Larry Tatum Mid-Western Vice President National Primitive Baptist Convention

Dr. Bruce N. Alick President The Pennsylvania Baptist State Convention, Inc.

Presiding Elder Eric L. Brown Allegheny-Scranton District AME Church

Presiding Elder James McLemore Pittsburg District AME Church

Presiding Elder Julius Clay Philadelphia District CME Church

Dr. Lester Taylor President General Baptist State Convention of New Jersey

Dr. Robert L. Curry President United Missionary Baptist Convention of New Jersey

Presiding Elder Larry Dixon Atlantic City District AME Church

Dr. Carl Washington President Empire Baptist Missionary Convention

Presiding Elder Frederick Belcher NY District CME Church Dr. Billy G. Russell President MN State Baptist Convention

Dr. James Blassingame President Baptist Educational & Missionary Convention of South Carolina

Presiding Elder Jetson R. Maness Charleston-Columbia District CME Church

Superintendent Earnest Odom Lower Midland District (SC) COGIC

Superintendent William A. Prioleau Southeastern District (SC) COGIC

Presiding Elder Juenarri Keith Mount Pleasant District (SC) AME Church

Presiding Elder Allen Parrott Kingstree District (SC) AME Church

Presiding Elder Sandy Drayton Georgetown District (SC) AME Church

Presiding Elder Malachi Duncan Charleston District (SC) AME Church

Presiding Elder Joseph Darby – Beaufort District (SC) AME Church

Dr. Gregory Christopher President North Pacific Baptist State Convention (WA)